Nerd Passion: 5 songs I’ve been into lately.

So I know this is a bit of a shock, but I really enjoy music! I’m not much of a musician or music theorist, but I do love a good song and this week I’ve been pondering what I like and possibly why I like it. It won’t be the most comprehensive list but considering it’s midterms I hope people will bear with me and enjoy.

 

5. Gorillaz – Clint Eastwood

This song is well, Interesting. The hook is great and simple (and possibly referencing drug use), and the song itself seems to be about observing something “other” then physical reality as well as keeping your inner child (“Rhythm, you have it or you don’t. that’s a fallacy). A lot of the lyrics refer to percieving something beyond your physical senses (Yall can see me now cause you don’t see with your eye, you percieve with your mind!) and the fact that the rapper in the music video is a “spirit” is very telling. Overall, the song itself doesn’t sound to weird but the hook and the subject of the wrap remind you that there’s something deeper beyond it all.

 

4. Panic At The Disco – This is Gospel

 

Quite simply one of the best songs i’ve heard in a long time! Concept wise, it’s another “ode to the outcasts” song, but if you enjoy my blog you know that it’s not whether it’s been done before, but how it’s told differently. And MAN does it give a great spin on this concept. Beyond the singing and instrumental sounding absolutely amazing, the lyrics are just to die for. There’s alliteration, rhyme and a huge multi-syllabled vocabulary make it sound like a Shakespeare era sonnet. I don’t know what else to say, it’s just an amazing song.

3. Flobots – One love

No official music video here, but This is an amazing song, especially if you’re in a lonely place. It’s all about just remembering we don’t have to go through the trials of life completely alone and calling for the ever true concept of love. It must have been a great closing song for their performances back in the day.

2. Flobots – White flag Warriors

 

Very powerful song. this is obviously a very “politically” charged song. As the name implies, it’s a protest song against declaring war. Throughout it talks of how there’s better ways to get your “rage” out and that questioning war is not a cowardly thing. As they say, It’s love, not treason.

  1. Of Monsters And Men – Slow and steady

 

Just a nice song to listen to when you’re winding down physically or emotionally. I’d like to think everyone has those moments where you feel like you can do more but don’t where you feel like you just haven’t been given the opportunities in life. this song helps with those feelings (as well as winding down for bed.)

 

Hope you readers enjoy! more content soon.

Leave a comment